23 April 2015

Review: Our Frozen Wings By: Becky Wicks

Title: Our Frozen Wings
Author: Becky Wicks
Publisher: Smashwords Edition, 27 pages (December 8th 2014)
From: Purchased from Amazon.co.uk
Format: eBook
Add to: Goodreads
Order a copy: Amazon, Barnes and NobleAmazon UK

Synopsis: Ella and Oscar grew up together in the wilds of Alaska and their love is a powerful force that renders others not only green-eyed with envy, but invisible. When strange sounds in Ella's house start freaking them out, a visit to a local psychic is set to change their lives forever.

Review: 4 stars - Our Frozen Wings is a short story by Becky Wicks. I loved Becky’s previous books so when I saw she was promoting this short story I had to give it a read.

North of Juneau in Alaska, lies the town of Skagway. There, live two eighteen year olds. Ella and Oscar are loves young dream. They do everything together and even when their lives take a dramatic turn, they stay together.

A visit to a psychic brings about the end of their tale. I was not expecting the ending at all and if I’m honest I did have a little cry when I read it.

This story despite it only being 27 pages made me feel as though anything is possible.

I want the true love Ella describes in the book is “A little fleet of caterpillars, moving slowly but surely through her world. Each little caterpillar carried on its back a secret, travelling back and forth between her and Oscar; strong and consistent until one day, the caterpillars simple grew wings.”
I want a

I can’t say too much because it will spoil the story, but as with Becky’s previous novels, this one doesn’t disappoint.
My only problem is with it, is that it is too short- I wish for a longer version of this story- telling us how Ella and Oscar met, how they bonded and the relationship turned into what it is.

Becky Wicks has the writing skills; I can only hope she can once again write her magic and bring us more stories with the calibre of this one in the future.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Alderson, Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick and Elizabeth LaBan.

Find the Author

Follow me on Twitter     /     Be friends with me on Goodreads
Subscribe to my RSS Feed

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment and let me know your thoughts on this post.

Recently Read

Titans By: Victoria Scott

Blog Archive

Search the Blog!

Learn more about RAK

Book Soulmates

Total Pageviews

Copyright

FTC Disclaimer:

In accordance with FTC Guidelines, I have not received any monetary gain for any information posted within the pages of this website/blog. Any and all information has been provided by the publisher, author and or publicist for free. Content is also based on purchases made by myself or of my guest reviewer(s). Any and all opinions expressed within the pages of this website/blog are solely my own or those of the authors of any and all guest reviewers(s) or guest bloggers.



Related Posts with Thumbnails

About Me

Hi, I’m Lisa and I'm a proud bibliophile.

I enjoy reading and reviewing a variety of different books within the Young Adult, "New Adult" & Adult genres/categories. If you have any questions or if you are an author or publisher and would be interested in promoting a book, please feel free email. You can find my email under the "mail" button or under the contact link at the top of the page.

I look forward to hearing from you!


Authors, Publishers & Publicists

Have a book you'd like me to review or Promote? How about doing an Author Interview? Or maybe a Guest Post? Great! I'd love to! For more information about having your book reviewed here, please follow this link for more information:

Reviews, Interviews, Guest Posts and Contest.

Guest Reviewer Jenny

Guest Reviewer Jenny
Click for info & links to her reviews!

My Ratings

When I review I rate from 1 to 5 stars, 5 being the highest rating. I review based on many different things from the writing, to the story - to the characters and how I can relate to them or how they are developed. I also review based on if an author has worked their magic and was able to draw me into a story so deeply that I don't want to put the book down. If you would like me to review a book, please contact me or view my Contact Information and Review Policy for further details.

5 Stars - I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!
4 Stars - I Really liked/Loved it.
3 Stars - I liked it/Was pretty good.
2 Stars - It was, eh okay.
1 Star - It just wasn't for me.

Followers

Follow the Blog

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow By Email

Enter your email address:

Grab Me!

Blogs I Love